Hiroshima is a Grammy nominated smooth jazz group. 


Based in California, the group was formed in 1974 by Dan Kuramoto and June Kuramoto.

Hiroshima’s debut album sold more than 100,000 copies in its first three months. The band’s second album yielded the song “Winds of Change”, which received a Grammy Award nomination for Best R&B Instrumental. Hiroshima has released seventeen full length albums. The group earned its first gold album in 1985 with Another Place and a second gold album with Go. The album Legacy was nominated for a Grammy Award in the Best Pop Instrumental Album category in 2010. Hiroshima has sold more than four million albums worldwide. Hiroshima consists of Dan Kuramoto (saxophone, flute, keyboards, shakuhachi), June Kuramoto (koto) Kimo Cornwell (keyboards), Dean Cortez (bass guitar), and Danny Yamamoto (drums and taiko).

Hiroshima was given the Visionary Award by East West Players, the oldest Asian Pacific American theatre company in the United States,[3] for the band’s “impact on the Asian Pacific American (APA) community through their artistic excellence and support of the Asian Pacific American performing arts.

The group’s newest single “Watercolors” is currently in radio rotation on Sirius XM and charted on Billboard’s Smooth Jazz chart.